Best credit control software for wholesalers (2026)

Summary

The best credit control software for a wholesaler on Xero or QuickBooks Online is Paidnice from £49 a month or Chaser from £199 a month, for reminders, statements and late fees. A distributor running SAP, NetSuite or Dynamics needs an order-to-cash platform such as Esker or HighRadius that holds a sales order at the credit limit.

  • Paidnice: Best for wholesalers on Xero or QuickBooks Online that want per-group late fees, statutory interest and statements posted on the ledger, from £49 / US$69 a month for 150 invoices.
  • Chaser: Best for larger wholesalers past £4m turnover that want credit checks in the same tool as the chasing, from £199 a month.
  • Access Collect: Best for wholesalers already running Access Financials or Dimensions, from £3,600 a year as a module inside the Access ledger.
  • Credit Hound: Best for wholesalers on Sage that need dispute logging and promise-to-pay tracking, from £20 per user a month on Sage 50.
  • Satago: Best for Sage 50 wholesalers that want chasing, credit scores and invoice finance together, from £25 a month embedded in Sage 50.
Contents▾

What do wholesalers actually need from credit control software?

A wholesaler needs to know which of two categories it is buying from: an SME credit control tool that runs reminders, statements and late fees on top of Xero, QuickBooks or Sage, or an enterprise order-to-cash platform such as Esker, HighRadius or NetSuite that holds a sales order at the credit limit inside the ERP. No ranking page says this, and none of the six tools below stops an order at entry.

The stock was bought, picked and shipped before the invoice fell due, so only two controls matter: the gate that stops the next despatch, and the charge that makes the outstanding one cost something. Rank on what each tool enforces, not on feature counts.

The wait is measurable. Xero Small Business Insights puts wholesale trade more than a week above the Australian national average for time to be paid. Wholesale is the only sector-level read Xero publishes for distribution, and it is the slowest side of the ledger. See how UK wholesale and retail customers are currently paying before you pick a tool built around chasing them.

Xero Small Business Insights · June 2026
Average time to be paid: Wholesale Trade against the national average
MarketWholesale TradeAll industriesGapRank, slowest first
Australia27.6 days20.3 days+7.3 days5th of 19

Source: Xero Small Business Insights, June 2026. See the full data on the Paidnice accounts receivable statistics dashboard.

Most comparison pages score reminders, dashboards and integrations. Score these two instead.

One, can it charge on the ledger

Under the Late Payment of Commercial Debts (Interest) Act 1998 s.5A you can claim £40, £70 or £100 per overdue invoice, plus interest at 8 percentage points over base under the 2002 Rate of Interest Order. The question is whether the software posts that as a transaction, or types it into an email.

  • A number in an email is a request. Your customer's payables clerk has nothing to key.
  • A posted charge is a receivable, so it enters their AP system, aged payables and payment run.
  • It carries a tax treatment, an income account and an audit trail, which an email does not.
  • And it nets against a credit note when you decide to waive it.

Apply fees automatically, waive them deliberately with a documented reason. The statutory basics are in the guide to UK late payment fees, and what a goods supplier can charge across four markets is in charging interest on overdue invoices.

Two, where the credit block fires

QuickBooks Online has no customer credit limit field in its documentation. Xero has one, but its block fires at invoice approval or send, after the pallet has left the yard. Xero has also declined to close the gap: on the Contacts, Automatic Credit Hold and Stop idea it stated on 8 February 2024 that it has no plans to develop it.

Neither ledger has a sales order object or a despatch event, so nothing sitting on top of the ledger can gate an order. Not Chaser, not Paidnice, not any tool here. In an SME the person releasing the pick is the gate, and the sequence for running it is in credit control for wholesalers.

💡 Paidnice insight

"The fee is in our terms and we have never once charged it" is the most common sentence on our wholesale demo calls. The clause was drafted years ago, the arithmetic is annoying, so nobody ever raises the charge.

Does credit control software stop an order shipping over the credit limit?

Only ERP-integrated software does. Esker, HighRadius and NetSuite hold a sales order at the credit limit because they own the order; no credit control tool on Xero or QuickBooks Online can, because neither ledger has a sales order object. For everyone else, credit limit management splits into three jobs: setting the limit, seeing the breach, acting on it.

  • Setting the limit. Xero has a credit limit field on the contact, enforced at invoice approval or send. QuickBooks Online documents none. Sage 200 itself holds a new order at entry once the account is over limit or on hold; Credit Hound sets that hold status and the ledger enforces it.
  • Seeing the breach. Chaser and Satago bring external credit-risk data; Satago includes customer credit scores and suggested limits on both of its Sage 50 tiers. Paidnice shows a payment-history score from 1 to 100 against each contact.
  • Acting on it. Paidnice escalations can fire on a customer's total overdue balance or on a credit-limit breach, with the instructions sent to a designated address so a person can hold the next pick.

For a Sage 200 site the order hold comes from Sage 200, with Credit Hound feeding the account status. For everyone else the software raises the flag and a person holds the pallet.

How do the six credit control tools compare?

Paidnice, Chaser, Access Collect, Credit Hound, Satago and ezyCollect are the six credit control tools a UK wholesaler realistically shortlists, at entry prices from £20 to £300 a month. None of the six enforces a credit limit at order entry, and only Paidnice and Chaser document statutory late fees.

Two are ledger-side tools, one is a module inside the Access ledger, two are Sage-channel products and one is an Australian order-to-cash suite. Read the credit limit and statutory late fee columns first.

ToolBest forSize fitPrice fromLedgerCredit limit enforcementStatutory late feesRegionsRated
PaidnicePer-group late fees and statutory interest on the ledgerAny size up to $50m a year on Xero or QuickBooks Online£49 / US$69 a month for 150 invoicesXero, QuickBooks Online, Stripe, Pinch, HubSpot, PipedriveNone; charges and chases on the ledgerYes; flat, percentage or compounding, UK rate auto-indexed to the base rateUK, AU, NZ, US, CA, ZA5.0 (Xero App Store); 4.9 (Capterra)
ChaserCredit checks beside the chasingAny mainstream ledger, £4m to £200m turnover£199 a month to £4m turnoverXero, QuickBooks, Sage, NetSuite, Dynamics 365No evidence found of a native order-entry blockYes; four calculation types including a UK base rate option, one global ruleUK led, sold internationally4.98 (374, Xero App Store)
Access Collect (The Access Group)Chasing inside the Access ledger, no connectorWholesalers on Access Financials or Dimensions, £5m to £50m turnover£3,600 a year (Essential), host ledger quoted separatelyAccess Financials, Access Dimensions 3.0No evidence found of a native order-entry blockNot documented publiclyUKNot published
Credit HoundDispute logging and promise-to-pay trackingWholesalers already running Sage£20 per user a month on Sage 50, on Draycir's own pricing pageSage Accounting, Sage 50, 100, 200, Intacct, Infor SunSystems, XeroFreezes overdue accounts; the host ledger performs the blockNo evidence found in vendor documentationUK led, Sage channel5.0 (11, Sage UK Marketplace); 4.5 (1, G2)
SatagoChasing, credit scores and invoice finance togetherSage 50 wholesalers wanting finance alongside£25 a month embedded in Sage 50Xero, Sage, Sage 50, QuickBooks, KashFlow, FreeAgentNo evidence found; supplies scores and suggested limitsNot documentedUKNot documented
ezyCollectMYOB and local ERP coverage with credit insightAustralian and New Zealand distributorsAbout A$275 a month plus setup, annualMYOB AccountRight, Exo and Essentials, Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite, SAP Business One, Pronto XiNo evidence found; credit insight informs, it does not gateNo evidence found in vendor documentationAU and NZ led4.9 (35, Xero App Store AU); 4.7 (25, G2)

"No evidence found" means the capability does not appear in that vendor's public documentation, not that the feature is absent. Prices and ratings move often; verify current pricing on the vendor's site.

Nobody publishes what this costs

Search "credit control software" from the UK and not one page-one result tells a small wholesaler the price. Sage, Quadient, Esker, HighRadius and TreviPay all ask for a quote request rather than publishing a figure. Access Collect publishes £3,600 a year for its entry tier, but only as a module inside Access Financials or Dimensions, and the host ledger is quoted.

So the entry prices above are the point of this page. A 10 to 50 person wholesaler lands between £20 and £199 a month, not in the enterprise bracket.

Paidnice

Best for wholesalers on Xero or QuickBooks, any size up to $50m a year

Paidnice is credit control software for wholesalers on Xero or QuickBooks Online: reminder sequences per customer group, late fees, statutory interest, statements and payment plans, posted as real transactions on the ledger, from £49 a month.

  • Fits: wholesalers and distributors of any size up to $50m a year, or 50,000 invoices a year, on Xero or QuickBooks Online
  • Regions: the UK, Australia, New Zealand, the US, Canada and South Africa
  • Entry cost: priced by invoice volume, from £49 / US$69 a month for 150 invoices, Pro from £74 / US$99. No per-seat fees
  • Rated: 5.0 from 83 Xero App Store reviews, 4.9 on Capterra
  • Awards: 2025 Xero Global Small Business App of the Year 🏆, and winner of New Zealand Small Business App of the Year at the Xero Global App Awards 2026Xero Global Small Business App of the Year 2025 badgeXero Global App Awards 2026 New Zealand Small Business App of the Year winner badge
  • Runs on: Xero and QuickBooks Online, plus Stripe, Pinch Payments, HubSpot and Pipedrive
  • Credit limit enforcement: none. It works from the ledger, so it charges and chases once the invoice exists
  • Statutory late fees: flat, percentage or compounding, applied straight onto the Xero invoice, with the UK statutory rate auto-indexed to the Bank of England base rate, and the £40, £70 and £100 fixed sums applied as a line item on the invoice
  • The one thing it does best: statement interest recalculates at send, so the figure the customer opens is accurate that morning, not a number raised last month and stale since

Customer groups carry their own rules, so a symbol group member on 60 days and a cash account on 30 run different policies at once. Customers cut their average wait for payment in half, within 30 days.

The limitation. It does not block an order at entry. It sits on the ledger, not the order book, so the despatch gate stays with your inventory system or a person, though a credit-limit breach or total overdue balance can trigger an escalation to that person. It is not a cash-application platform, and it runs external bureau credit checks through Creditsafe on the Custom plan only: on Essentials and Pro, payers are rated internally from their own payment history.

Chaser

Best for larger wholesalers past £4m turnover, from £199 a month

Chaser is credit control software for wholesalers past £4m turnover on any mainstream ledger: email and SMS reminders, credit checks and late fees, from £199 a month.

  • Fits: wholesalers past £4m turnover, on any mainstream ledger
  • Regions: UK founded in 2014 and UK led, sold internationally
  • Entry cost: from £199 a month on Compact, which covers turnover to £4m; £599 on Core and £899 on Complete
  • Rated: 4.98/5 from 374 Xero App Store reviews, the deepest review base in the category
  • Runs on: Xero, QuickBooks, Sage, NetSuite and Dynamics 365
  • Credit limit enforcement: no evidence found in vendor documentation of a native order-entry credit block. Whatever your ledger or inventory system does is what happens
  • Statutory late fees: yes, four calculation types including a UK base rate option, but one global rule that cannot vary by customer group, and fees do not apply to payment-plan or partially-paid invoices
  • The one thing it does best: the longest track record and largest review base in the category

Test the single global fee rule on the demo. A wholesaler rarely runs one policy: symbol group members, trade counter accounts and one-off buyers need different rules, and here they get the same one.

The limitation. One global late-fee rule, no fees on payment-plan or partially-paid invoices, statements monthly only on a fixed day, and an entry price four times the cheapest option here.

Access Collect

Best for wholesalers already on Access Financials or Dimensions, from £3,600 a year

Access Collect is the credit control module built into Access Financials and Access Dimensions 3.0: automated chasing, promise-to-pay tracking and a receivables dashboard, from £3,600 a year on the Essential tier.

  • Fits: UK mid-market wholesalers already running the Access ledger, which the vendor sizes at £5m to £50m turnover
  • Regions: the UK, with UK support
  • Entry cost: £3,600 a year on Essential, £6,600 on Professional, custom above £30m turnover; unlimited users and no setup fee. The Access Financials or Dimensions licence it runs inside is quoted separately
  • Rated: no product-level review base found
  • Runs on: Access Financials and Access Dimensions 3.0 only; no connector to Sage, Xero or QuickBooks
  • Credit limit enforcement: risk scoring and credit management on the Professional tier; where an on-stop account is blocked is not documented
  • Statutory late fees: no evidence found in vendor documentation
  • The one thing it does best: living inside the ledger, so there is no sync and no integration project

Payment plans and the customer portal sit on the Professional tier, so the entry price buys chasing and dashboards.

The limitation. A wholesaler on Sage, Xero or QuickBooks cannot buy it, and no independent reviews exist to check the feature list against.

Credit Hound

Best for wholesalers already running Sage, from £20 per user

Credit Hound is a collections and dispute workbench from Draycir for wholesalers on Sage: chase cycles, query logging and promise-to-pay tracking, from £20 per user a month.

  • Fits: wholesalers on Sage, from Sage 50 up to Intacct, with a credit team of one to three
  • Regions: Leicester based and UK led since 2002, with Sage 50 connectors for the UK and Ireland, the US and Canada
  • Entry cost: on Draycir's own pricing page, £20 per user a month on Sage 50 and Sage Accounting; £51 for the first user then £35 each on Sage 200 and Xero; £82 on Intacct. PayThem, the payment module, is £38 a month on top. Free trial, no published setup fee
  • Rated: 5.0 from 11 Sage UK Marketplace reviews, 4.5 from a single G2 review, none on Capterra
  • Runs on: Sage Accounting, Sage 50, Sage 100, Sage 200, Sage Intacct, Infor SunSystems and Xero, plus more on the desktop product. No QuickBooks Online connector found
  • Credit limit enforcement: the brochure says it can freeze overdue accounts automatically, and the host ledger performs the block. The vendor does not state where that block bites, so treat it as inherited, not owned
  • Statutory late fees: no evidence found in vendor documentation, including no statutory interest and no £40, £70 or £100 fixed sum
  • The one thing it does best: structured dispute management with follow-up, alongside promise-to-pay tracking

Disputes and short payments are the wholesale collections problem, and a query log with automatic follow-up is the right shape for them. Sold through a large reseller network, which is how Sage sites buy.

The limitation. It chases, it does not charge. No QuickBooks Online, per-user pricing that scales badly past two or three controllers, and a review base of twelve across every platform.

Satago

Best for Sage 50 wholesalers wanting credit control and finance together

Satago is credit control plus invoice finance for UK wholesalers on Sage 50: automated chasing, credit risk data and a Lloyds-backed funding line, from £25 a month embedded in Sage 50.

  • Fits: UK wholesalers on Sage 50 wanting chasing, credit scores and a funding line from one supplier
  • Regions: the UK
  • Entry cost: £25 a month Standard and £45 Plus on the Sage 50 embedded pricing, and Plus is included with some Sage 50 subscriptions, though the vendor does not publish which. Standalone is £45, £80 and £200
  • Rated: no published review base
  • Runs on: Xero, Sage, Sage 50, QuickBooks, KashFlow and FreeAgent
  • Credit limit enforcement: no evidence found. It supplies credit scores and suggested limits, which is risk data feeding a human decision, not a gate
  • Statutory late fees: not verifiable from public materials. Reminders are documented; whether it computes statutory interest or the fixed sums is not stated publicly
  • The one thing it does best: pairing everyday credit control with a funding line, at a price a Sage 50 site barely notices

Price it at the embedded rate, not the standalone one. A Sage 50 wholesaler is looking at £25 to £45 a month, and possibly at nothing, which changes the comparison.

The limitation. Late fees, per-group sequences and statement behaviour cannot be verified publicly, so put all three on the demo list. UK only, and the lending side is the commercial centre of gravity.

ezyCollect

Best for Australian and New Zealand wholesalers on MYOB or an ERP

ezyCollect is an order-to-cash suite for Australian and New Zealand distributors on MYOB or an ERP: reminders, credit insight, a payment portal and payment plans, from about A$275 a month plus setup.

  • Fits: Australian and New Zealand distributors on MYOB, Xero or a mid-market ERP
  • Regions: strong in Australia and New Zealand, Sydney founded, acquired by Sidetrade in October 2025
  • Entry cost: from about A$275 a month plus a setup fee, on an annual contract
  • Rated: 4.9 from 35 Australian Xero App Store reviews, 4.7 from 25 on G2
  • Runs on: MYOB AccountRight, Exo and Essentials, Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite, SAP Business One and Pronto Xi
  • Credit limit enforcement: no evidence found. Its illion credit insight informs the decision to ship, it does not gate the order
  • Statutory late fees: no evidence found in vendor documentation of any late-fee or interest automation, in the help centre or the relaunch materials
  • The one thing it does best: the widest Australian ERP coverage here, with credit insight and the SimplyPaid portal in one place

For a distributor on MYOB Exo or Pronto Xi it is often the only tool in this list that connects at all, and that alone usually decides it.

The limitation. No late-fee or interest capability appears in vendor documentation. That matters less in Australia, where there is no statutory B2B interest regime, and a great deal if you also invoice UK customers. Expect a setup fee and an annual contract.

How do you choose by revenue band and ledger?

A wholesaler chooses by ledger first, then by whether it needs the order gate. On Xero or QuickBooks Online the choice is Paidnice at £49 or Chaser at £199; a Sage 50 site chooses between Satago at £25 and Credit Hound at £20 per user; a distributor on SAP, NetSuite or Dynamics is in the enterprise, quote-only bracket with Esker, HighRadius and OnGuard.

Your ledger narrows the list faster than your revenue does. Start there, then check the price against the size of the credit team.

  • Xero or QuickBooks Online, any size up to $50m a year. Paidnice at £49 for per-group rules and on-ledger interest, or Chaser at £199 if credit checks justify the jump.
  • Sage 50. Satago at £25 to £45, or Credit Hound at £20 per user. Both stay inside the Sage stack, and neither publishes a statutory interest capability.
  • Sage 200, Intacct or SunSystems. Credit Hound. Sage 200 also gives you the thing nothing on this page has, an automatic order hold at entry with an override permission for named users.
  • Australia or New Zealand. ezyCollect on MYOB or an ERP. On Xero there, Paidnice works at AU$99 or NZ$109 ex GST a month at entry, but fees are contractual in both countries, with no statutory fallback. CreditorWatch Collect, formerly Debtor Daddy, is rated 4.89 from 91 reviews on the Xero App Store and publishes no tiers.
  • SAP, NetSuite or Dynamics, or drowning in deductions. Order gating at the credit limit and deduction management are enterprise categories, and every product in them is quote only. Read retention of title, deductions and disputes first.

Debtor management software, credit control software and accounts receivable automation are the same category under three names. UK vendors say credit control, US vendors say accounts receivable automation, and Australian and New Zealand vendors say debtor management. The job is identical: reminders, statements, fees, escalation and a live view of who owes what.

Access Collect is only an option if you already run Access Financials or Access Dimensions; a wholesaler on Sage, Xero or QuickBooks cannot buy it.

When is a spreadsheet still fine for credit control?

A spreadsheet stops paying for itself at roughly 40 overdue accounts a month, or once your debtor days sit ten or more days above your terms. Below both lines it is genuinely the right tool.

The arithmetic, on stated assumptions rather than a vendor study.

The labour line. Four chase touches a month per overdue account, three minutes each to look up, draft, send and log, is 12 minutes per account per month.

40 accounts × 4 touches × 3 minutes = 480 minutes, or 8 hours a month. At £18 an hour fully loaded that is £144 of salaried time, against a £49 entry licence.

The cash line. A £3m wholesaler carries £3,000,000 ÷ 365 = £8,219 of receivables for every single day of debtor days. Ten days above terms is £82,192 sitting in other people's bank accounts.

The labour crossover arrives first, the cash line is the expensive one. The general method is in the DSO calculation formula, and the wholesale version, VAT error and all, is in debtor days for wholesalers.

Three things a spreadsheet cannot do at any size, and all three matter in wholesale.

  • Post a fee or interest charge onto the invoice in Xero or QuickBooks, so it reaches the customer's payment run.
  • Recalculate accrued interest at the moment a statement goes out, rather than the day someone last opened the file.
  • Keep running while the person who owns the file is on holiday, which is exactly when the ledger drifts.
💡 Paidnice insight

The wholesalers who get the most from any tool on this page settle four things before they buy: who chases, on what days, what the charge is, and who may waive it. Software makes those decisions repeatable. It does not make them for you.

Common questions

What does credit control software cost a UK wholesaler?

Published entry prices: Credit Hound from £20 per user a month on Sage 50 on Draycir's own pricing page, Satago from £25 embedded in Sage 50, Paidnice from £49 / US$69 for 150 invoices, Chaser from £199 covering turnover to £4m, and Access Collect from £3,600 a year inside the Access ledger. ezyCollect starts around A$275 plus setup. The enterprise names publish nothing, so treat any quote-only vendor as a several-thousand-a-year decision.

Can any of these stop an order shipping over the credit limit?

No. None of the six gates order entry, because none owns the order. QuickBooks Online has no credit limit field in its documentation, and Xero's block fires at invoice approval or send, after the goods have gone.

The gate belongs to your inventory or ERP system, or to the person releasing the pick. Sage 200 and NetSuite hold an order automatically once the limit is breached, and enterprise order-to-cash platforms such as Esker and HighRadius do the same inside SAP or Dynamics. MYOB prevents further sales, but only once someone sets the credit hold by hand. Xero and QuickBooks Online cannot do either.

Which tools can charge statutory interest and the fixed sums?

Paidnice computes flat, percentage or compounding interest with the UK statutory rate auto-indexed to the base rate, and applies the £40, £70 and £100 fixed sums as an invoice line item. Chaser offers four calculation types including a UK base rate option, under one global rule.

For Credit Hound no interest or late-fee function appears in vendor documentation, Satago's depth is not publicly verifiable, and ezyCollect has none.

Does credit control software for wholesalers include credit checks?

Only some do. Chaser and Satago pull external credit-risk data; Access Collect adds risk scoring based on internal payment behaviour, at the Professional tier. Paidnice runs external bureau checks through Creditsafe on its Custom plan; Essentials and Pro score payers internally from 1 to 100, based on their own payment history with you.

Which of these work with QuickBooks Online?

Paidnice, Chaser, Satago and ezyCollect all list QuickBooks. No QuickBooks Online connector was found for Credit Hound, which is the biggest fit gap for a wholesaler not on Sage.

Do I still need this if my inventory system already chases?

Usually yes, because the layers do different jobs. The inventory system holds the order and the credit limit. The ledger holds the invoice, and that is the only place a fee, a statement or statutory interest becomes a real transaction.

Whichever you pick, the tool executes a policy it cannot write for you. The terms, limits and escalation ladder are in the wholesale credit control guide.

Denym Bird

Written by

Denym Bird

Co-founder & CEO of Paidnice

Denym is a software entrepreneur and writes about accounts receivables management for small business.

Stop chasing invoices.
Start getting paid.

Paidnice is accounts receivable automation that enforces your payment terms, trusted by thousands of businesses on Xero and QuickBooks. Credit control and debtor management, run for you.

Try it Now - It's Free

No card required.

ACAcme Joinery 12 days overdue Checking policy Late fee applied Awaiting payment $4,120 $4,202
BRBrightwork Due today Reminder sent Still unpaid Final notice $1,880
CVCoverdale Due in 3 days Reminder sent Checking policy Exempt from fees Needs review Sent to your team $6,480

Try Our Free Accounts Receivable Calculators

Optimize your cash flow with our suite of financial tools designed for AR professionals. Calculate DSO, aging analysis, late fees, and more.

Explore Calculators